Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

How do You Handle Complements?

How do You Handle Complements?2011-02-25T15:35:10+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey Other How do You Handle Complements?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author

shutterbug55
    Participant

I know this isn’t an ADD thing, or maybe it is… I’m still new to thinking about the world in terms of ADD. For the last several weeks, I have been working with a counselor in identifying what parts of my thought processes are ADD, Dyslexia, coping mechanisms, and avoidance behaviors. Throughout all of this, I have been dealing with demands of work and home.

I can’t remember when. A coworker told me that he noticed my work and that he thought it cool, that I did my work quietly and with no fan fair and it always got done. I thanked him and beat a hasty retreat to the bathroom where I locked my self into the furthest stall. Little did he know the turmoil going on in my head on a second by second basis and the effort it takes to complete a series of tasks. I do things quietly, because I don’t like being noticed.

I am sure we all get complements, but do we notice them? How do you react when you do?

REPORT ABUSE

Carrie

At first I would always disagree when someone complimented me… Take art work for example… I would paint something and people would adore it and tell me how good it was. I always disagreed because this colour didn’t blend to well, or its not the way I had seen it in my head, or this eye is slightly bigger than that one etc etc. I saw all the flaws in it… Same if they complimented my looks. I would go through everything that I found wrong with me….