Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

I'm new here.. dealing with new normal.

I'm new here.. dealing with new normal.2018-03-13T18:15:27+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey My Story I'm new here.. dealing with new normal.

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author

andreaaaaaah
    Participant

I’m new here. I’m a happily married female in mid 30’s. I’m also a veteran. I served honorably 5 years and did the whole Afghanistan thing. Yeah, I do have ADHD. I never advertise that or use that as an excuse. I wanted to join so bad though and didn’t want that to stand in my way of anything. I was diagnosed with many things as a teen, most likely due to severe self esteem issues(I was beautiful, thin, etc but didn’t “feel” that way, just never “felt” like I related to or was accepted by anyone my age) and those wacky roller coaster hormones. From age 14 to 20 I was diagnosed with everything from Bipolar Disorder, paranoid schizophrenia, Dissociate Identity Disorder, etc.

You know what though.. some of that was my fault because I was sort of a drama queen, yet a lot of it was real in my head then. Also.. I should not have trusted doctors and answered their questions with a bit more caution.
    By age 20 my hormones and my maturity must have balanced out enough and my body had been put through enough with all the different medications I had been prescribed during those years. I finally got a good doctor at a whole new clinic. A wise old owl doctor who listened to my story and knew what was up.Blah Blah blah.. He prescribed me Ritalin and the moment it kicked in, it changed my life because it made me calm down like a high. I had a whole new perspective and realized just how/why I frustrated so many people and myself. I was always late for work..always.. everything that I just couldn’t get right before wasn’t going to be an issue. “One thing at a time!” That phrase was doable to me now!