Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Meditation: does it help with ADD or ADHD?

Meditation: does it help with ADD or ADHD?2010-11-03T23:41:29+00:00

The Forums Forums Ask The Community Meditation: does it help with ADD or ADHD?

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I am wondering if there are any studies that have been done to examine the effects of meditation on ADD or ADHD symptoms? I would love to do a study on this, as I work as a counsellor in a college, and see many students with ADD and ADHD. For myself, I have scored very high (answering yes to all) on the inattentive questions, but as an adult I think I’ve learned to control my impulsivity and somewhat my restlessness…..

REPORT ABUSE

Ivriniel
    Participant

I’m sorry, but your question is confusing me. Are you asking if there have been any studies to test the effectiveness of the commonly perscribed ADHD meds? Because if that’s your question, the answer is a resounding yes. Doctors don’t just randomly start prescribing stuff.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

I have tried meditation before, but for me it makes my mind race even more. I felt very awkward that I couldn’t even meditate properly, and usually before I was done attempting it I would be pacing around. Yoga was more meditative for me. I have heard that chanting is good, but I would start daydreaming and forget what was going on.