Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Paper work and Emails finally caught up with me!

Paper work and Emails finally caught up with me!2012-09-26T07:38:28+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace Strategies for Work Paper work and Emails finally caught up with me!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author

Carrie

Well…. Due to my ignoring of paper work and emails I have gotten myself into a bit of a pickle. If I would have fully read one (of the MILLION) emails I got sent I would not have made a potential life threatning mistake. I work as a nurse, and one of my patients was changed to a certain diet, which I kind of knew, but not the FULL details because I just skimmed the email. I fed him something he WASN’T to have and he choked severely. Yes I used my “J-thrusts” and saved him. He is just fine. No problem there. The problem now is facing his wife, the doctor and my boss as to why I fed him that sandwhich when it was sent in emails and written in his chart about a month ago NOT to do so….. ARRRG!

There is ALWAYS about 10 different e-mails sent a day from my work that I need to keep up with. Always lots of charting I need to back read on, then lots of new Doctors orders, faxes, lab work that needs review and frankly as soon as I see the pile of paper work I run. I do EVERYTHING else under the sun to avoid it! I re-labled all the names on the charts. I re-did the entire MAR. I organized (the only time I can organize) all the books in the cupboard. They all look amazing! But now im in a bit of trouble because I’ve neglected the paper work I was to do! My one co-worker commented on how on my days off im going through all my work e-mails or how on my first day back from days off I am always extra early so I can try to catch up. With out doing this I would be very very very lost!