Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Quit my last job demoralized, and scared to start a new one

Quit my last job demoralized, and scared to start a new one2014-05-01T19:42:34+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey I'm Scared Quit my last job demoralized, and scared to start a new one

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

doctormikayla

I’ll start this off on a positive note, and say that I was able to quit my job last year without horrible financial consequences since my husband has a good secure job that he excels at and makes enough money to support the family.

That being said, I have worked in various IT Development positions since I graduated college in 2006. However, up until the past couple of years, I was always working under a team lead or a business analyst who told me what needed to be done and I would just work on translating that into code. Junior programmers don’t really have a great deal of responsibility.

My last job is the one that I held the longest, and in the third year I was there there was a major company split and I found myself suddenly working on a much smaller team in a much smaller company. And then they told us all that now we would all have to be “leaders” and take on more responsibility.