Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Wellbutrin/bupropion

Wellbutrin/bupropion2010-10-29T04:54:24+00:00

The Forums Forums Medication Antidepressants Wellbutrin/bupropion

Free medication video
Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

HI there,, hope this hasnt already been put out there & I missed it.. Has anyone used Wellbutrin? Im told it will help give me energy (not that I need it) but I thought (from when my nephew was on ritalin) “sedatives” act as a stimulant in children and vice versa? Ummm why do I (adHd) need a stimulant?? Sorry I’m new at this (forums & diagnosis)…

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Sorry – My brain just caught up to my fingers – I get the kid/adult thing – (sedative/stimulant)but I’m guessing the meds do more than just calm kids/boost big kids? Man I have alot of homework to do…

REPORT ABUSE

Patte Rosebank
    Participant

Actually, Wellbutrin is an antidepressant, not a stimulant. It has also been found to be quite effective for treating ADHD in some patients…and as a stop-smoking aid. The trouble with mental and mood disorders is that you have to find the right med(s) through trial-and-error. Unlike a broken leg, where the treatment is always to re-set and brace the bones so they knit together properly.

I know it sounds like a contradiction to treat ADHD with a stimulant, the fact is that all of our hyperactive behaviours are an attempt to use physical activity to stimulate the right pre-frontal cortex of our brains (which is the part that isn’t functioning properly in people with ADHD). The meds for ADHD target that specific part of the brain and, essentially, wake it up chemically so it is functioning properly.