Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

ADD friendly jobs

ADD friendly jobs2011-02-11T09:17:29+00:00

The Forums Forums The Workplace ADHD-Friendly Careers ADD friendly jobs

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 81 total)
  • Author

rebekkajm

Can you guys give me examples of ADD friendly jobs?

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi rebekkajm!

I am a successfully self-employed hairstylist! In my 31 years in this business, having ADHD is almost a requirement!

Before hair, I worked in retail. For me, anything where I am on my feet and interacting with people is the best. I need a fast-paced environment.

I have lots of ADHD friends who successfully in occupations such as various trades in construction, music industry, film industry, sales, teaching, almost anything to do with computers, acting, theatre, comedy…

We do very well when we work for ourselves.

The best thing is to figure out what type of environment you work best in, whether a quiet one where you can have peace to think without being bothered by outside stimulus, or like me, where you need to be surrounded by a constant circus.

The most important thing is to be able to function in your environment and then you`ll thrive.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

Also, I have to be on my feet for the better part of my working day…I am unable to sit for long periods of time.

Little things like this can help direct you in your search..

What drives you nuts….

Under what conditions do you work best or are the happiest….

Need to sit to work….

Need to be standing or moving…

Like working with people…

Like being alone…..

Quiet environment or noisy..busy..music…

Fast paced..action

REPORT ABUSE

rebekkajm

ok thanks !

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive