Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Time Blindness

Time Blindness2012-04-26T19:34:43+00:00

The Forums Forums Most X-treme! Where I Struggle Most Time Blindness

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

nanaimo

I really have difficulty noticing time, budgeting time, estimating time. You get the idea. The funny thing is, long before I even suspected ADHD I noticed that while I am a very good cook, TIMING is always what goes wrong if I mess up a recipe.

Directly related to this or caused by this is my lack of internal motivation. I understand that I need to create external reminders and motivators for both issues…but finding what will work is so difficult. I really wish I could afford to hire a coach for a few weeks.

REPORT ABUSE

Anonymous
    Inactive

I share those issues with time. I can look at a clock, know that I have an hour before I need to leave, start doing computer stuff for example, and when it feels like about 15 minutes has past, my hour can easily be gone. I never understand where it went. If I think it’s going to take me 1/2 an hour to throw a lasagne together, it takes me far more – maybe 1 1/2 hours. Or I’ll think it must be about 2pm, look at a clock and find out it’s really 4pm! Wearing a watch helps a little but I forget to look at it – or forget to put it on.

REPORT ABUSE

Robbo

Wow, Time… it’s the enemy sometimes. Last night I turned off the control thing on my power chair cuz it’s got a clock on it. I sometimes check it to see how much time is left on the episode of Criminal Minds I’m watching. That takes away from how much I enjoy watching these modern day superhero’s. One of only a few shows I watch a lot of.

You’re talking about one of my biggest problems. There are solutions all over this site, I’ll pass on a trick to finding good info on this site. Got it from billd. Use google, type something like this

Time management : totallyadd.