Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

School – Verbal Abuse by Teachers!

School – Verbal Abuse by Teachers!2010-12-06T11:06:51+00:00

The Forums Forums Most X-treme! Most Hostile/Ignorant Thing I've Heard School – Verbal Abuse by Teachers!

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

I graduated High School in 1980, and My goodness – If I EVER here “He’s so smart, If he would only apply himself, he would do so much better in my class” again I think I will just come unglued. In fact it happened during a parent teacher conference for my son, who by the way has been diagnosed with ADD/Dyslexia/Disgraphia, and I just laid into the teacher and let them know in no uncertain terms that was not an acceptable position for them to take.

I put up with so much verbal abuse by my adult teachers being demeaned in class because I truly wanted to understand, but the subject matter just wasn’t connecting, and being “dressed down” in front of the whole class for asking an ill timed question.

My position became that if the teacher wasn’t so STUPID, and INEPT at teaching their subject they wouldn’t get so angry, and the Principal never seemed to see it my way – and we had many discussions throughout my Grade School/High School Career.

REPORT ABUSE

Ivriniel
    Participant

When did this happen with your son, Tombdragon?

The teacher who said that is woefully ignorant of Special Education issues, and I would strongly suggest (assuming that the teacher is still teaching your child) bringing that comment to the attention of your child’s Principal.

I would suggest pitching the conversation wanting to help improve the situation for everyone involved.

An excellent place to start with a teacher who thinks this way would be with the F.A.T. City Video (also known as “How Difficult Can this Be?) from Rick Lavoie

http://www.ricklavoie.com/videos.html