Dr. Umesh Jain is now exclusively responsible for TotallyADD.com and its content

Successful ADDers annoy the h*ll out of me.

Successful ADDers annoy the h*ll out of me.2011-11-06T23:52:52+00:00

The Forums Forums Emotional Journey Venting! Successful ADDers annoy the h*ll out of me.

Viewing 0 posts
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 125 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi everyone,

Just joined the site a day ago… I am a 33 year-old woman who was diagnosed only three months ago. Just “read through” (ie-skimmed) this thread and was spurred to write something.

I just wanted to comment back about the initial post…I am a “successful” person with ADHD, meaning I am married (sometimes happily and sometimes not-so-happily) and I work full-time as a lawyer.

I am still wrapping my head aroung my diagnosis. In some ways this makes perfect sense to me. I’ve always been different and felt different. My life has been filled with struggles- alcoholism, drug abuse, bulimia, depression, anxiety. I basically fought my way through obstacle after obstacle because I am stubborn. But I never understood why things had to be so much harder for me than for almost everyone else.

I guess I just wanted to say that just because I work as a lawyer (which is LOVE/HATE for me- Love the courtroom adrenaline stuff, hate the paperwork) doesn’t mean I feel very successful at all. The last year I have felt like I was barely holding my life together at the seams. My marriage is troubled right now. I am on the verge of screwing up big time at work and dealing with just my emotional state feels like wrestling with a beast. And that’s every day. I have always felt like I have a hole inside and nothing ever fills it. Wow, what a cliche- but true… I have typically been a positive exhuberant person who suffers from dark days (unable to get out of bed). I’m either on or I’m off… there is very little in the middle. It’s exhausting- the intensity of it.